CARING – Season for Nonviolence, Day 4

Today’s Peace Practice is CARING.

“Of course,” you say, there will be more peace if more people care, or if people care more.  Care more about each other.  Care more about justice.  Care more about peace.  And so on.  It goes without saying.  We might think of Mother Teresa, or the Dalai Lama, or Pope Francis, or Mahatma Gandhi, and say how wonderful it is that those leaders care or cared so much for others that they dedicated their lives to bringing forth a world where people felt more welcome, less alone.  “What wonderful people,” we say to ourselves, separating them from ourselves in our mind as we consider our own impatience, greed, arrogance, or other ego-driven “me-first” behaviors.

What could it be that motivated their large caring?  Can anyone really just decide to do that?

Can I?

Why would I?

It is important to know that you don’t have to be a saint.  NONE of these people are without their “flat spots,” as my sister-in-law likes to say, and they are just like us.  Perhaps they found their life’s purpose before we did.  Perhaps not.   What is important is to set an intention to be better at caring every day, if we think it matters, and to love ourselves and others anyway if we falter, or they do..

Image

image from mystory community, facebook

Thing is, Love and CARING are innate.  We are born with it.  It is the Life of the Universe flowing through us.  And, although we are often filled with fear and strong aggressive and competitive urges when we are young, as we mature, as we grow spiritually, we begin to realize that the things we used to think were so important don’t bring that much satisfaction after all.

“At the end of life, what really matters is not what we bought, but what we built; not what we got, but what we shared; not our competence, but our character; and not our success, but our significance. Live a life that matters. Live a life of love.”    Author Unknown

I know that, at 72, I have begun to think as much about what I can leave behind as what I “want” for myself.   And what I want now is that I can share all the experience and lessons of my life in a way that others can find their way to a life of inner peace and joy.

I CARE so much that someone be there to lead others out of the darkness.   When I was in that dark place, I never found anyone who was able to truly describe the experience and also describe the way out.

I have SO much Love in my heart, not just for specific people, but I can feel the Love Energy that flows through the universe also flowing through me, bubbling up from some deep warm inner well, and demanding expression…

shhhhh  I am writing a book.  About overcoming years of deep depression. shhhhh

If you read this and it resonates with you, could you maybe tell me what you hope I might include in it?   Thanks.

Thanks for visiting.and...What say you?

