FAITH – Season for Nonviolence, Day 9

Dr. King really said it all, I think, here.

He just started.  MLK did. Where he was.   It was after Mrs. Parks had stood up for her right to sit where she was on a bus in December, 1955, as I recall, that a young pastor was selected to head the Montgomery Improvement Association , and the rest, as they say, is history.  Dr. King could have had no conception at that moment of the lasting legacy he would leave the world. I am not completely sure if he knew who he had to become, that he would have climbed the staircase at all.  But he committed to the urgent mission of organizing the 18 month Montgomery bus boycott, and his passion and skills grew as he went along, one step at a time.

Image

If I wait to do something until I have all the facts, until I am sure to be successful, I will never begin.  I am no Martin Luther King, i am just me, but the principle is the same.  Since I have declared my intention to write my book on overcoming depression, since I have begun to seriously work out what needs to be said, I have begun to climb the first stairs – but I cannot see the whole staircase, not imagine what will happen at the top.  On these bottom rungs I feel fairly safe; I can always just turn around.  The higher on the staircase I will be, the more climbing and learning and doing and re-doing I have done, I will be in a different place.

I don’t have all the skills and knowledge I will need – yet.  I have faith that I will grow into those skills if I have something that needs to be said, and I have faith that whatever the outcome, as long as I don’t give in to the “who do you think you are”s in my head and give up, that something worthwhile will emerge, though I cannot see the final product now.

Thanks for visiting.and...What say you?

