Facebook and Spiritual Practice

Yes, really, my morning spiritual practice occurs on facebook.  It is like an extended meditation practice for me.

I have discovered hundreds, probably thousands of spiritually-oriented facebook fanpages  where beautiful people post gorgeous photos with inspiring words every day, and also share posts from others which speak to them.  My own Open hearted Musings facebook page is where I have collected just a few of them.

antdrinkreflct_pictursofthisuniverse

One of my favorite things to do, on that page, is to find a beautiful photograph I have saved with text, usually a quote.  Today’s example is here.

Every morning, before I do anything else, I spend an hour immersed in beauty and wisdom, to set my personal GPS system for the day.  I manage the facebook pages of two spiritual communities, Community Interfaith Church and House of Love and Light, and after a time, I wanted to put special pieces away for days when I am needing an extra spiritual boost, such as when I am in (chronic) pain or otherwise not feeling well.

Since I am actively looking for things to share, I read the items in the newsfeeds through the heart of sharing the best, and it has the most wonderful effect on my attitude for the day.  I come away refreshed, centered, feeling happy to have contributed something to someone’s day, while preparing for my own.

I highly recommend this practice to others, really, it can be life-altering.

Thanks for visiting.and...What say you?

