I have Been Nominated for the Liebster Award.

The Liebster Award
Image

I haven’t been back seriously blogging for very long, so I don’t know that many people yet.  So imagine my surprise when I found a lovely message in my email yesterday morning.  Dear Tela  (you should totally stop by and see what this amazing woman has to say) has nominated me for a Liebster award, and she said the sweetest thing, it made my day!  She said that, “This ladies words of wisdom have brought peace to me on some of my craptastic day’s.”  Wow.  Craptastic.  Been there. Thanks, Tela, I am so happy to know my words somehow helped.

Tela blogs about removing herself from the control and influence of  a narcissist or sociopath, and putting her life back together afterwards.

I had to write and ask her what the Liebster Award meant, but meanwhile Googled it. Here is what I found.
The Official Rules Of The Liebster Award 
If you have been nominated for The Liebster Award AND YOU CHOOSE TO ACCEPT IT, write a blog post about the Liebster award in which you:

1. thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.
2. display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)
3. answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.
4. provide 11 random facts about yourself.
5. nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 1000 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)
6. create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.
7. list these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here.) Once you have written and published it, you then have to:
8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

HERE GOES:

Answer 11 questions about yourself
1. Who has had the biggest influence on you?  Joel Goldsmith, mystic and author
2. What do you like about blogging?  I’ve always loved to express myself in writing.  And now, I have company.  It is very rewarding when someone likes or follows or especially comments, because I know someone has read the post.
3. What do you dislike about blogging? (Be honest!)  It takes a lot of time, and I am a freelance writer working on a book.
4. What makes you laugh out loud?  G-rated funny videos of babies and dogs and such.   Or when TDH (tall dark and handsome) tells a silly joke or sings a song with stupid made-up words just to hear me laugh.  It is the dearest thing ever.
5. What is your favorite book?  Definitely the Dragonriders of Pern series.  Many a day deep despair has been lifted by traveling back to that world.
6. What is your favorite quote?  “When we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.”  Viktor E. Frankl, Austrian neurologist and psychiatrist and Holocaust survivor, in  “Man’s Search for Meaning” originally published as “Nevertheless, Say “Yes” to Life: A Psychologist Experiences the Concentration Camp.”
He survived both Auschwitz and Dachau before being liberated by US forces.  
He had concluded that even in the most absurd, painful, and dehumanized situation, life has potential meaning and that, therefore, even suffering is meaningful.  He is quoted as saying, “What is to give light must endure burning.”
7. What is your favorite form of social media?   Facebook.  I manage a number of  pages for others as as well as my personal newsfeed and fanpages.  https://www.facebook.com/OpenHeartedMusings I love sharing other peoples uplifting or inspiring work and creating my own with images and text.
8. Do you like poetry? Prose poetry sometimes, does that count?
9. What is your favorite movie or TV show?  Quite honestly, I am a news junkie.
10. What is the hardest thing you have ever done, or the biggest obstacle you have faced in your life?  Deciding to live when I had wanted to die for a really long time, and then learning how to create a meaningful and satisfying life out of the wreckage.  That’s why I am writing a book, hoping to pull someone else up too.
11. What are 3 of your future goals?  Write a book.  Get it published.  Stay healthy. (I am 72).

Provide 11 random facts about yourself

  1. I grew up in Holland right after World War II.  It had of course been bombed, and I played in bomb holes.
  2. I am a life-long peace activist.
  3. I live in a semi-rural town outside of Tucson AZ, on my own little acre with a great view of the mountains.
  4. I am a minister and a therapist, and those things inform my days and, I hope, my writing.
  5. I am a vegetarian.
  6. I grow vegetables (yes, in the Sonoran desert).
  7. I use them in my morning green smoothies.
  8. My gluten-free vegetarian diet has largely helped put my fibromyalgia into remission.
  9. I was deeply depressed for a number of years in my 30’s and 40’s.  I am writing a book about it and how I got better.
  10. I am a great-grandmother; the baby is 6 months old and lives several states away, sadly.
  11. I sing at retirement communities with TDH, who is a professional vocalist and actor. And, so proud to say, I am also an actor, and sang solo on a real stage, stage several times

A few other blogs I am enjoying (besides Tela’s), keeping in mind I have just showed up here:
The Radical Self Love Project  shares with people how to love themselves, a vital skill.

Writing Into the Light  is an amazing writer who has just discovered se has cancer.  again.

Aquamosh posts spectacularly beautiful photos each day from around the world 

Holistic Wayfarer is a Korean American mom, great writer, currently doing an interactive piece on race and identity

Nabeel Afsar is a mystic  taking on issues of Divine Love and Oneness

Turkeyboneheaven  is in recovery from child sexual abuse and alcoholism, and writes a very honest blog, reaching out to others with similar experiences

Processing The Life  is the source of the weekly Happy Post challenge

Spiritual Awakening is a great blog I just discovered about, well, spiritual awakening.

DysthymiaBree blogs about her process living with, recovering from, depression.

2 thoughts on “I have Been Nominated for the Liebster Award.

Thanks for visiting.and...What say you?

