Why am I Blogging? Blogging101_1_ zero to hero

I have joined the blogging 101 challenge to understand WP better, and I’ll try to be true to the challenge though I am on vacation and it’s hard to get to the computer.

  • Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal?

I am a writer, writing is my craft.  I write for the joy of it. I write so I know what I am thinking – my fingers seem to know me better than  I know  myself.   I am a freelance writer, and blogging hones my writing chops. I write to connect with other people, since I no longer can drive and so am not out and about as I once was.

geravatarprofile_picI am 72 years old, and it is time to try to share what I have learned on my life journey, especially things I wish I had known years before I learned them.  Sometimes though, my blog, like everyone’s, is just a place to process “stuff.”  I have been blogging on various platforms for years, mostly social and political commentary, although I try to keep most of that out of my WP blogs.  I’d  like to think that some of my words would strike a chord with others, perhaps even uplift or comfort or teach in some way.

  • What topics do you think you’ll write about?

I write about life, about mystic spirituality and my spiritual growth and unfoldment, about the pleasures and losses in aging, about overcoming deep depression, as I have.  I write about peace and nonviolence. I write about writing and, there will undoubtedly be further polite social commentary. I am a big fan of facts-based discussions.

  • Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

I would love to connect with other nonfiction writers, since I am a newbie at writing for money, other than as a job – I was a technical writer for 7 years before reitring, writing educational manuals.  I have started a book, and have an almost published e-book that I wrote on commission for someone else, but am just learning the ropes of freelancing.  I am interested in meeting people who are spiritual without being religious, people in recovery from mood disorders as I am, and people who champion peace.

  • If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

I would hope to have a body of work that I am pleased with that might also help others.

Thanks for visiting.and...What say you?

