Must Blogging Mean Lonely…and 2014 in review

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2014 annual report for this blog.

penpals-2I love that you are in 44 countries around the world, and I do wish we could get to know each other better.  We could have so much to share about how things are the same and how things are different, depending where we live.  Now, I know Facebook works a little better for this…but…

I just read a post by Greg Mercer on BigRedCarpetNursing about how we are all alone when we blog, and while we blog for different purposes, whether we might become like pen-pals in a way?

Everyone who commented similarly felt like they were writing into an echo chamber, so I know there are many of us who feel this way.

I want to say “Thank you” especially Tela, who educates us about relating to sociopaths and to Karuna, who is currently taking us with her on her fascinating annual long pilgrimage to Amma in India – complete with pictures – for encouraging me and befriending me this year and letting me know I wasn’t alone here.   Also to April,who talks about overcoming serious challenges,  Juan, so philosophical and honest and Taylor Grace (not her real name.  No.) for their regular likes and comments and making me feel less anonymous. I feel I am getting to know them a bit.  I do also have some real-life friends who are kind enough to read some of what I write and I thank you as well.

Pen_Pals_by_Pen_PalsWhat can we do? I don’t mean especially to make us all look like children, but have we changed that much? I mean we’re all introverts here,  but my inner child gets feeling rejected, sometimes wonders, “What’s the Point?” Does yours?  I wonder if we look to quantity of followers, and “reach,” above the quality of human relationships we build – to our detriment? I even like when I get “likes,” knowing someone is out there.  Am I overly sensitive?

Now Reach is good.  I want that too. But would it be so bad to make some friends before worrying about spreading our message far and wide?   A comment from Chris Pollock on Greg’s blog post on being pen pals suggested we learn to “cohumancate,” in which we become more real to each other.  I loved the idea.

Now honestly, I realize I don’t have enough time to read all the blogs I follow in the Reader, but maybe I can make a small commitment – to create a few more pen-pal type relationships this year whereby we know and support each other in our work and our lives.     I mean my blog is still small – and what I am suggesting may not work if you have 50,000 followers – but most of us are not in that league.

There are millions of us blogging, and our interests can be widely different – but we have a lot to learn from each other, and friends make everything more fun.  So, I can commit to cementing at least 3 more relationships here this year where we shall “cohumancate;”  more and I might not be able to keep up, what with other commitments.

Are you IN?  Or, what do you think?

hugs, gerry

Here’s an excerpt:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 2,300 times in 2014. If it were a cable car, it would take about 38 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

One thought on “Must Blogging Mean Lonely…and 2014 in review

  1. Oh the WP stat reports……you know what amazes me? The search terms used to find my blog. Some of them are so disturbing & I think to myself “My gosh what is that person going through”. Thank you my dear Gerry for always lifting me up with your post, even the one’s that are very open & honest about your struggles with depression. Blessings for a Happy, Healthy 2015. >3

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for visiting.and...What say you?

