Motivational Mondays – New Weekly Feature

I have been trying to come up with a weekly feature that I could commit to…Eureka!  I think I found it!   #MotivationalMondays!  In addition to my work as a blogger and other parts of my LIFE, I provide content for a number of motivational pages on Facebook.   Now, I LOVE creating these pretty little posters, and so do other people.   It’s my new passion.  It’s a meditation.  It’s creative.  And a picture is worth a thousand words, so they say.  So this week is loaded up on the side of FB posts, but all of us know how important it is to have a social media presence, right????

INSPIRATIONAL BLOG POSTS I READ THIS WEEK

I’m thinking about KINDNESS and about COMPASSION.

1. Last week I was introduced to the #1000 Voices Speak For Compassion campaign that is on FEBRUARY 20 – in 4 days!!!!! “Considerings, Life in Silver Linings” wrote a great post  called “We All Need A Village”   in which she recounted some terrible instances in which an individual needed “a village”  but there no longer is one.  I have signed on as part of that campaign, so I can say “WE” want to remind people to think about how they can be there for other people, especially those we don’t even know.  Each of us are asked to write a blog or a FB post about compassion on February 20 and and send a wave of compassion around the world. 1200 people have signed up and counting!!  You can join formally, or you could even just write about compassion and use the #1000voices hashtag  I say, why stop on February 20?

2.  I have fallen in love with something called “The Kindness Blog,”   and i take time once or twice a week to head over there for a “feel good” story – well this one is certainly heartwarming.    It seems that there is a 109 year old man in Australia who knows all about being a village…for penguins.  He knit little sweaters for them after they were rescued from an oil spill – so that they didn’t die from preening their feathers or from the cold because oil makes their feathers stick together instead of insulating them.  Think about it.  He’s 109 years old and still giving….  check out the pictures they are cute.

FACEBOOK POSTERS I LOVED THIS WEEK:

Other People’s Posters:  Happily Highlighting Great Work I Loved

1. 10959721_798544273560997_2667148327842257914_n Rebel Thriver is exactly what her name implies – a survivor turned thriver turned loving activator of thriving in other people. Her page recently reached 96,000 likes (be still my heart) – and she deserves every single one.  She also posts here on WP!!!   Her posts are heart-felt, honest, and empowering and full of love. I have been following her for a long time.  Here’s a recent favorite.

I myself have done this several times.  It’s funny, you resist and resist, you hang on, you try to fix things, you leave claw marks – until one day, you know – you’re DONE!!!  And then you leave.  You feel calm but numb, knowing the grief will follow – and the details are always troublesome – but you are sure now, you have set a new direction and there is also a sense of relief.  You’ve made your decision and you aren’t turning back.  And then, soon enough, you notice the birds are singing, and it’s time for new adventures!

BehindFibropost2.  I have had Fibromyalgia for many years.  Sometimes it is mostly in remission and at other times it flares and is miserable.   Can’t sleep, hurt all over, balance way off, blurry vision, brain fog – how awful when. you just c a n t  T H I N K.  So I have found many online resources and support groups, and thought I would share one with you today.  Behind Fibromyalgia is a FB support page from someone who shares our story. The Michael J. Fox quote is one of my favorites from that page.This is from their “about.”

“Support is not offering advice…It is offering a handkerchief, a touch, a hug…caring shoulder.  We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes it has gone through to achieve that beauty Like the Butterfly, I have the Strength and Hope to believe, In time I will emerged from my Cocoon….TRANSFORMED.”

10959544_722604327847761_9217685552389690094_n

3.  And I have a new intuitive healer friend who posted this and knocked me back on my heels, it’s so wonderfully “in your face” honest.  Healing Intentions says this about herself:  “I am passionate about helping you to discover your pain patterns and helping you to free yourself so you can move into living an Empowered and amazing life!”  Go on over and check out her many, many great posts.

My Own Posters (yes, shameless self-promotion – I love making these)

PRETTYSUNSETBIRDS_DOĞA HayattırSNV16_GRATITUDE

1.  From my FB page for the Seasons for Peace and Nonviolence.  Each day for 64 days we celebrate on principle or practice of peace-building (funny, they are also the tools for inner peace and happiness).

On Valentine’s Day, the practice was GRATITUDE.  It’s one of my favorite topics and a foundation for my life.  I will be forever grateful to have discovered its healing and balancing powers.  It is a lighthouse when I find myself in a dark place and if lifts the fogs of fear, anger or sadness.  Gratitude grounds me and opens my heart back up.

 

laughingbaby_Flickr_reuse_modification.IHM2. From my FB page Imagine Yourself  Happy, for those who suffer or have suffered from the pains of mental illness, especially depression.

Have you heard of “Laughter Wellness?” All over the world groups gather to laugh together – not because anything is funny to start with, but simply because we humans are born to laugh. Of course, laughter is contagious. Here’s a way to get those endorphins moving and at least a time of respite from the unrelenting darkness of deep depression. Truly, it is healing.

I have been lucky to attract an open-hearted partner into my life who makes me laugh every day.   By myself, I can get “stuck in serious.”   And perfectionism!!

 

yellowflowers_wonderfulnature.OHMFrom my FB page associated with THIS blog, Open Hearted Musings, here is one  I am particularly fond of, as a part of a series on Thich Nhat Hanh quotes.  Thay has been one of my favorite spiritual teachers, though I have never actually been in his presence.  From him I learned my foundational practice of the gentle smile that opens the heart and leads me home.  I am grateful beyond measure.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Motivational Mondays – New Weekly Feature

  1. This post was lovely, and full of so many good links! Also, I want to apologize for my absence this past week. I know it was my turn to host our ‘blogging circle’ and time got away from me with the kids being home with a few days off school for the holiday weekend. Again, my apologies! Is there another day later this week that you would like try our circle? 🙂

    Like

Thanks for visiting.and...What say you?

