Season for Nonviolence Day 41 ~ OPENNESS

What do we need in order to bring peace to our homes, to our workplaces, to our world?

Less Fear, More LOVE.

Why do I mention fear?  We oPurple_tree_plus.google.com_SNV2016_Day41_OPENNESS_gsnly hide when we are afraid – and as spiritual peace activists, we are aware that in truth, fear itself  is the major thing to fear, because it warns us that we are believing in lack and limitation – ours – and telling ourselves that duplicity is somehow the way to peace!

Openness requires courage.  I remember clearly a mistake I made years back. I was working with a small group to try to bring a new peace organization to Tucson…we were all very excited about it, it involved the arts and teens.  One of the members had a role I didn’t think she had the skills to carry out and it was central to our success in attracting this organization to our city. She was unwilling to take on a different role when I asked her.  Instead of laying out my case before all the volunteers and having an open discussion about all of our roles, which because of her popularity I didn’t think I could prevail in,  I called an executive boBlooms_of_a_yellow_rose_wiki_SNV2016_Day41_OPENNESS_gsard meeting to shift her role.

That was the end of the effort.  From then on, I had lost the trust of some of the volunteers, work was undermined and we failed. Tucson’s teens lost.

In retrospect, we could have come to an arrangement where her skill deficit was covered by someone else, while she retained her title, which she wanted for her resume. She was a hard worker who had put in a lot of hours and that was something we could have provided her without the project losing anything.

Let’s remember our true goals as we go through our days and weeks and remember that the means towards our end MATTER..   Blessings of Peace and prosperity, health and happiness.to you.

Namaste,   Gerry

PS: ***Sign up for my monthly newsletter with a featured “Peace and Happiness Tool” herehttp://eepurl.com/bfjVxX

Find my work at:

http://imagineyourselfhappy.wordpress.com  (temporarily on the shelf- all new content is here)
www.openheartedmusings.com
 (temporarily on the shelf- all new content is here)

FACEBOOK:  Daily fresh content, often original

Imagine Yourself Happy

Open Hearted Musings

Seasons for Peace and Nonviolence Tucson


Proud member of www.thewellnessuniverse.com

 My Wellness Universe author page
My Wellness Universe bio

I’d love to  welcome you as a colleague.  :

The Wellness Universe WUpeopleDecember2015JOINUSis the global online membership directory of heart-centered empowering healers and thought leaders who direct their energy towards YOUR wellness and the Wellness of the planet…in every way.  We are a tribe, a family – and I find for me that as I share my colleagues’ work that resonates with me, I myself grow personally and professionally.

We are accepting new members. Look around the blog and click above to apply if you would like us to feature YOUR work.

 

 

 

One thought on “Season for Nonviolence Day 41 ~ OPENNESS

  1. I’m convinced that it’s fear which drives us to insist on control and assert, “my way or the highway” – and I’ve certainly been guilty of that myself. It can be challenging to trust that a situation will work out for the best for all concerned, but in my experience, it’s worth making the effort to include and remain transparent in our dealings with others. As an added bonus, by “letting go and letting God”, I’ve found it helps ME most of all! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Thanks for visiting.and...What say you?

